THE LOST FINGERS & JOHN JORGENSON

THE LOST FINGERS & JOHN JORGENSON

Details

May 31

8:30 pm

Doors open at 7:30 pm


DESJARDINS STAGE
Centre de Congrès

$40*
Presented by

About the show


*Taxes and service charges extra.

THE LOST FINGERS


In 1928, following a fire in his caravan, Django Reinhardt, then 18 years old, lost the use of two fingers. He then developed a unique method for playing the guitar, was inspired by jazz, and quickly became a source of inspiration. It is this story that inspired the name of the group. In 2006, at the Conservatoire de Québec, the two guitarists and the bassist behind the group The Lost Fingers merged. For the humor of the music, they decide to unite their three voices and their multiple strings to pay homage to the 80s, as the great Master of gypsy jazz could have done.

After seducing Quebec with its first album Lost in the 80’s, selling over 400,000 copies, The Lost Fingers have performed in 24 different countries, scored several Juno and ADISQ nominations and awards. They have performed with pop & jazz stars such as Celine Dion, Bireli Lagrene and 8 time Grammy Award winning instrumentalist John Jorgenson (sideman for Elton John, Pavarotti & Barbara Streisand)!

Since 2008, audiences have been dazzled: the hits from the 80s to today revisited in a gypsy swing manner combined with sophisticated arrangements, and a fresh dressed style have made The Lost Fingers a must see. Their energy, style, swing, smiles, humor, musicality & virtuosity will definitely entertain you!





JOHN JORGENSON


John Jorgenson is born July 6, 1956 in Madison, Wisconsin. Beyond the guitar, Jorgenson is also proficient in the mandolin, mandocello, Dobro, pedal steel, piano, upright bass, clarinet, bassoon, and saxophone. John Jorgenson, known for his blistering guitar and mandolin licks and mastery of a broad musical palette, has earned a reputation as a world-class musician, as evidenced by his collaborations with Earl Scruggs, Bonnie Raitt, Elton John, Luciano Pavarotti, Bob Dylan and many others.

First coming to national attention in the mid ‘80s as co-founder of successful country-rock act The Desert Rose Band, an eclectic array of artists such as Bonnie Raitt, Bob Seger and Barbra were drawn to add Jorgenson’s artistry to their own recordings. While a member of the Desert Rose Band, Jorgenson won the Academy of Country Music’s “Guitarist of the Year” award two consecutive years.

In the ‘90s The Hellecasters gave audiences a chance to discover Jorgenson and the trio’s three original albums remain favorites of guitarists everywhere. Having been a fan of the Desert Rose Band, Elton John invited Jorgenson to join his band in 1994 for an 18 month tour that stretched into a six-year stint of touring, recording and TV appearances with the British superstar, in addition to collaborations with other artists including Sting and Billy Joel. Elton John called Jorgenson a “brilliant guitarist”.

2010 marked the 100th birthday of the great gypsy guitarist Django Reinhardt. Since discovering Django in 1979, Jorgenson has become “the US Ambassador of Gypsy Jazz” which is quite an honor given the distinctly European slant of the music’s heritage. Over the years Jorgenson has continued to honor the legacy of Reinhardt by bringing his unique brand of Gypsy Jazz to the masses with his John Jorgenson Quintet.

Jorgenson continues to expand his dynamic range of musical offerings, exploring new elements of world music, bluegrass, rock and classical as he captivates and enlightens fellow musicians and listeners along the way. Jorgenson annually plays dates across the U.S. and Europe. Each permutation allows him to make prodigious use of his mastery of many instruments; no matter which band Jorgenson is playing with, his brilliant guitar work leads the way with music that is a combination of groundbreaking playing full of soaring melodies and driving rhythms. His contribution is utterly one of a kind by not only Jorgenson’s skillful guitar playing, but also his solo clarinet, bouzouki, and vocal performances as well.

Legends like Elton John, Earl Scruggs and Duane Eddy along with fellow guitarists such as Tommy Emmanuel, Peter Frampton and Brad Paisley have sung Jorgenson’s praises, and the best way to find out what they already know is to check out this artist who is leaving a lasting legacy in the art of guitar performance. Djangobooks perfectly articulates, “If he comes around, don’t miss him. The show is golden. The music soars.”

THE LOST FINGERS & JOHN JORGENSON

THE LOST FINGERS & JOHN JORGENSON

Détails

31 mai

20 h 30

Ouverture des portes à 19 h 30


SCÈNE DESJARDINS
Centre de Congrès

40 $*
Présenté par

À propos du spectacle


*Taxes et frais de service en sus.

THE LOST FINGERS


En 1928, à la suite d’un incendie dans sa roulotte Django Reinhardt, alors âgé de 18 ans, perd l’usage de deux doigts. Il développe alors une méthode unique pour jouer de la guitare, s’inspire du jazz, et en devient rapidement une source d’inspiration. C’est cette histoire qui a inspiré le nom du groupe. En 2006, au conservatoire de Québec, les deux guitaristes et le contrebassiste à l’origine du groupe The Lost Fingers fusionnent. Pour l’humour de la musique, ils décident d’unir leur trois voix et leurs multiples cordes pour rendre hommage aux années 80, comme aurait pu le faire le grand Maître du jazz manouche.

Après avoir conquis le Québec avec son premier disque Lost in the 80’s qui s’est écoulé à plus de 400 000 exemplaires, le groupe The Lost Fingers performe dans 24 pays différents, récoltant plusieurs distinctions notamment à l’ADISQ et aux Prix Juno. Il a collaboré avec plusieurs vedettes de la pop et du jazz, notamment avec Céline Dion, Bireli Lagrene et le gagnant de multiples prix Grammy, le multi-instrumentiste John Jorgenson qui a travaillé avec Elton John, Pavarotti et Barbara Streisand, entre autres.

Les hits des années 80 à aujourd’hui revisités à la manière swing manouche combinés à des arrangements sophistiqués et un look vestimentaire hors-norme font du quatuor un groupe à voir en prestation. Énergie, style, swing, humour, musicalité et virtuosité seront au rendez-vous!





JOHN JORGENSON


John Jorgenson né le 6 juillet 1956 à Madison, Wisconsin. Au-delà de la guitare, Jorgenson maîtrise la mandoline, le mandocello, le dobro, le pedal steel, le piano, la contrebasse, la clarinette, le basson et le saxophone. John Jorgenson, connu pour ses coups de guitare et de mandoline fulgurants et sa maîtrise d’une large palette musicale, s’est forgé une réputation de musicien de classe mondiale, comme en témoignent ses collaborations avec Earl Scruggs, Bonnie Raitt, Elton John, Luciano Pavarotti, Bob Dylan et plein d’autres.

Jorgenson a d’abord attiré l’attention au milieu des années 80 en tant que co-fondateur du groupe country-rock à succès The Desert Rose Band, un éventail éclectique d’artistes tels que Bonnie Raitt, Bob Seger et Barbra qui ont été amenés à ajouter le talent artistique de Jorgenson à leurs propres enregistrements. Alors qu’il était membre du Desert Rose Band, Jorgenson a remporté le prix du « guitariste de l’année » de l’Académie de musique country deux années consécutives.

Dans les années 90, The Hellecasters ont donné au public la chance de découvrir Jorgenson et les trois albums originaux du trio restent les favoris des guitaristes du monde entier. Après avoir été fan du Desert Rose Band, Elton John a invité Jorgenson à rejoindre son groupe en 1994 pour une tournée de 18 mois qui s’est étendue sur six ans de tournées, d’enregistrements et d’apparitions à la télévision avec la superstar britannique, en plus de collaborations avec d’autres artistes dont Sting et Billy Joel. Elton John a dit de Jorgenson qu’il est un « brillant guitariste ».

2010 a marqué le 100e anniversaire du grand guitariste manouche Django Reinhardt. Depuis qu’il a découvert Django en 1979, Jorgenson est devenu « l’ambassadeur américain du jazz manouche », ce qui est tout un honneur compte tenu de l’orientation distinctement européenne de l’héritage musical. Au fil des ans, Jorgenson a continué d’honorer l’héritage de Reinhardt en apportant sa marque unique de jazz manouche avec son John Jorgenson Quintet.

Jorgenson continue d’élargir sa gamme dynamique d’offres musicales, explorant de nouveaux éléments de la musique du monde, du bluegrass, du rock et du classique tout en captivant et en éclairant ses collègues musiciens et auditeurs en cours de route. Jorgenson joue chaque année à travers les États-Unis et l’Europe. Chaque permutation lui permet d’exploiter prodigieusement sa maîtrise de nombreux instruments ; Quel que soit le groupe avec lequel Jorgenson joue, son brillant travail de guitare ouvre la voie avec une musique qui est une combinaison de jeu révolutionnaire plein de mélodies envolées et de rythmes entraînants. Sa contribution est tout à fait unique en son genre non seulement par son jeu de guitare habile mais aussi par sa clarinette solo, son bouzouki et ses performances vocales.

Des légendes comme Elton John, Earl Scruggs et Duane Eddy ainsi que d’autres guitaristes tels que Tommy Emmanuel, Peter Frampton et Brad Paisley ont chanté les louanges de Jorgenson, et la meilleure façon de découvrir ce qu’ils savent déjà est de découvrir cet artiste qui quitte un héritage durable dans l’art de la performance à la guitare. Djangobooks l’a formulé parfaitement : « S’il vient, ne le manquez pas. Le spectacle est en or. La musique s’envole. »