JW-JONES {sortie du Festival}

JW-JONES {sortie du Festival}

Details

June 4

9:00 pm


BAR BISTRO L’ENTRACTE

$40 (presale) / $45 (at the door)

About the show


Tel.: (819) 825-9078

Ouvert tous les jours dès 14h.  * Dimanche fermé  *

JW-JONES


Billboard Top 10 Blues Artist, 2020 IBC Winner, and JUNO Nominee, Canadian singer/guitarist JW-Jones is known for his high-energy shows! A Canadian blues guitarist (originally from Ottawa), singer, songwriter, and bandleader, JW-Jones was first interested in drums and rock before opting for guitar and blues after hearing B.B. King perform. In a few years he absorbed the styles of legendary musicians such as Albert King, T-Bone Walker, Jimmie Vaughan and many others. JW-Jones has ten albums to his name and has performed in 23 countries on four different continents. He gives more than a hundred shows a year.

Fresh off the heels of winning “Best Guitarist” at the 2020 International Blues Challenge in Memphis, Jones and his touring band were looking forward to a huge year before COVID-19 hit and halted the tour schedule. But that didn’t stop him from turning isolation into inspiration. The latest album, Sonic Departures, sounds bigger and wider-than-ever. “I knew I had to do something productive to stay positive. I turned isolation into inspiration!” said Jones, whose searing axemanship has been praised in recent years by legendary blues artists Buddy Guy and Chuck Leavell (The Rolling Stones).

From original music to previously unreleased songs, “this album sounds bigger and wider-than-ever” says Jones. It features a 17-piece band with a 13-piece horn section, plus additional tracking of vocals, guitars, and studio effects that led to a most appropriate title, Sonic Departures.

After releasing ‘Live” two years ago, the roots radio favourite continues to accelerate his career momentum to new heights, whether it’s as a personally requested sit-in with the likes of 8-time Grammy winner Buddy Guy, opening for blues-rock icon George Thorogood, or entertaining thrilled audiences in 23 countries and four continents.

 

“This young man is one of the people who will keep the blues alive.” – Buddy Guy, 8 x Grammy Award winner

JW-JONES {sortie du Festival}

JW-JONES {sortie du Festival}

Détails

4 juin

21 h 00


BAR BISTRO L’ENTRACTE

40 $ (prévente) / 45 $ (à la porte)

À propos du spectacle


Tel.: (819) 825-9078

Ouvert tous les jours dès 14h.  * Dimanche fermé  *

JW-JONES


Billboard Top 10 Blues Artist, lauréat IBC 2020 et nominé aux prix JUNO, le chanteur/guitariste canadien JW-Jones est connu pour ses spectacles énergiques ! Guitariste de blues canadien (natif d’Ottawa), chanteur, auteur-compositeur et chef d’orchestre, JW-Jones s’est d’abord intéressé à la batterie et au Rock avant d’opter pour la guitare et le Blues après avoir entendu B.B. King en spectacle. En quelques années il absorbe les styles de musiciens légendaires tels qu’Albert King, T-Bone Walker, Jimmie Vaughan et bien d’autres. JW-Jones a dix albums à son actif et s’est produit dans 23 pays sur quatre continents différents. Il donne plus d’une centaine de spectacles par année.

Après avoir remporté le prix du « Meilleur guitariste » au Défi international de blues 2020 à Memphis, Jones et son groupe de tournée attendaient avec impatience une année énorme avant que COVID-19 n’arrive et arrête le programme de la tournée. Mais cela ne l’a pas empêché de transformer l’isolement en inspiration. Le dernier album, Sonic Departures, sonne plus grand et plus large que jamais. « Je savais que je devais faire quelque chose de productif pour rester positif. J’ai transformé l’isolement en inspiration ! a déclaré Jones, dont le talent a été salué ces dernières années par les légendaires artistes de blues Buddy Guy et Chuck Leavell (The Rolling Stones).

De la musique originale aux chansons inédites, « cet album sonne plus grand et plus large que jamais », déclare Jones. Il comprend un groupe de 17 musiciens avec une section de cuivres de 13 musiciens, ainsi qu’un suivi supplémentaire des voix, des guitares et des effets de studio qui ont conduit à un titre des plus appropriés, Sonic Departures.

Après avoir sorti Live il y a deux ans, le favori de la radio roots continue d’accélérer sa carrière vers de nouveaux sommets, que ce soit sous la forme d’un sit-in personnellement demandé avec des personnalités comme Buddy Guy, 8 fois lauréat d’un Grammy, en première partie de l’icône du blues-rock George Thorogood ou divertir un public ravi dans 23 pays et quatre continents.