ÉDITH BUTLER

ÉDITH BUTLER

Details

May 29

8:30 pm

Doors open at 8:00 pm


DESJARDINS STAGE
Centre de Congrès

$45*
Presented by

About the show


*Taxes and service charges extra.

ÉDITH BUTLER


Edith Butler was born in Paquetville, New Brunswick. It was the show “Sing Along Jubilee” in Halifax, where she was a regular guest from 1963 to 1970, which had the privilege of introducing her to the general public.

Since then, there was Canada (from Vancouver to Newfoundland, Louisiana, Ireland, Japan, (where she gave more than 500 performances) the famous Folk festivals in Washington, Mariposa and Winnipeg alongside Bob Dylan, Joni Mitchell, Gordon Lightfoot and Buffy Ste-Marie, the United States, Belgium, Switzerland, France from Jacques Chancel’s “Grand Echiquier” to the Paris Olympia via the Théâtre de la Ville, Printemps of Bourges, the European and the Francofolies of La Rochelle.

Having become the undisputed ambassador of her culture and traditions, she brings to life on stage the characters of her country, colorful, warm and filled with this joy of living specific to Acadians. Through her, one can hear the soul of a people singing.

Singer, musician and storyteller all at once, Édith Butler, “the mother of Acadian music”, gives us a face of the world that without her we would not have known.

His most recent album, the 28th, is entitled “Le Tour du Grand Bois”. Directed by Lisa Leblanc, it invites a dazzling encounter between the pioneer and her young director. His unique musical signature ingeniously embraces and blends traditional and contemporary sounds. Energy, complicity and contagious groove.

Edith Butler, inducted into the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame in 2019, is an Officer of the Order of Canada, Knight of the National Order of Merit of French Culture, Knight of the Order of Francophones of America, Knight of the ‘Ordre de la Pléiade’, and Knight of Arts and Letters of the French Republic.

 

“Édith Butler gives us a face of the world that without her we would not have known.”

— Antonine Maillet, 1970 Goncourt Prize

ÉDITH BUTLER

ÉDITH BUTLER

Détails

29 mai

20 h 30

Ouverture des portes à 20 h 00


SCÈNE DESJARDINS
Centre de Congrès

45 $*
Présenté par

À propos du spectacle


*Taxes et frais de service en sus.

ÉDITH BUTLER


Édith Butler est née à Paquetville au Nouveau-Brunswick. C’est l’émission « Sing Along Jubilee » à Halifax, où elle est une invitée régulière de 1963 à 1970, qui a le privilège de la faire découvrir au grand public.

Depuis, il y eût le Canada (de Vancouver à Terre-Neuve, la Louisiane, l’Irlande, le Japon, ( où elle donna plus de 500 représentations) les célèbres festivals Folk de Washington de Mariposa et de Winnipeg aux côtés de Bob Dylan, Joni Mitchell, Gordon Lightfoot et Buffy Ste-Marie, les Etats-Unis, la Belgique, la Suisse, la France du « Grand Echiquier » de Jacques Chancel à l’Olympia de Paris en passant par le Théâtre de la Ville, le Printemps de Bourges, l’Européen et les Francofolies de La Rochelle.

Devenue l’ambassadrice incontestée de sa culture et de ses traditions elle fait revivre sur scène les personnages de son pays, colorés, chaleureux et remplis de cette joie de vivre propre aux Acadiens. À travers elle, on peut entendre chanter l’âme d’un peuple.

À la fois chanteuse, musicienne et conteuse, Édith Butler, « la mère de la musique acadienne », nous livre un visage du monde que sans elle nous n’aurions pas connu.

Son plus récent album, le 28e, s’intitule « Le Tour du Grand Bois ». Réalisé par Lisa Leblanc, il convie à une rencontre éblouissante entre la pionnière et sa jeune réalisatrice. Sa signature musicale unique embrasse et amalgame ingénieusement des sonorités traditionnelles et contemporaines. Énergie, complicité et groove contagieux.

Édith Butler, intronisée au Panthéon des Auteurs et des Compositeurs Canadien en 2019 est officier de l’Ordre du Canada, Chevalier de l’Ordre National du Mérite de la Culture Française, Chevalier de l’ordre des Francophones d’Amérique, Chevalier de l’Ordre de la Pléiade., et chevalier des Arts et des Lettres de la République Française.

« Édith Butler nous livre un visage du monde que sans elle nous n’aurions pas connu. »

— Antonine Maillet, Prix Goncourt 1970