DIGGING ROOTS

DIGGING ROOTS

Details

June 4

6:00 pm

Doors open at 5:30 pm


GLENCORE STAGE
Petit Théâtre du Vieux Noranda

$30* (in venue) / $20 (virtual)
Presented by

About the show


*Taxes and service charges extra.

DIGGING ROOTS


Originaly from Winneway, Quebec and the Batchewana First Nation in northern Ontario, Digging Roots won the Juno Award for Aboriginal Album of the Year in 2010 and the Canadian Aboriginal Music Award for Best Group in 2007.

Digging Roots breathe life into songs from their land, Turtle Island, to raise their voices in solidarity with a global chorus of Indigenous artists, activists and change-makers. For over a decade, JUNO Award winners Digging Roots have traveled the world with a joyful message of resistance, celebrating Anishinabe and Onkwehonwe traditions of round dance and interconnectedness interwoven with the bedrock sounds of blues, soul and rock n’ roll.

The beating hearts of Digging Roots, founding duo ShoShona and Raven (husband and wife), have built a home for a talented community of players and collaborators including their son, drummer Skye Polson and Hill Kourkoutis. More than a band, Digging Roots have taken their place at the frontline of the fight for equity and representation in the arts, with involvement in industry advocacy and organization, including the International Indigenous Music Summit and Ishkode Records, to empower arts communities worldwide.

DIGGING ROOTS

DIGGING ROOTS

Détails

4 juin

18 h 00

Ouverture des portes à 17 h 30


SCÈNE GLENCORE
Petit Théâtre

30 $* (en salle) / 20 $ (en virtuel)
Présenté par

À propos du spectacle


*Taxes et frais de service en sus.

DIGGING ROOTS


Originaire de Winneway au Québec et de la Première Nation Batchewana dans le nord de l’Ontario, Digging Roots a remporté en 2010 le prix Juno de l’album autochtone de l’année ainsi que le Canadian Aboriginal Music Award du meilleur groupe en 2007.

Digging Roots donne vie à des chansons de leur terre, Turtle Island, pour élever leurs voix en solidarité avec un chœur mondial d’artistes, d’activistes et d’acteurs du changement autochtones. Depuis plus d’une décennie, Digging Roots parcourent le monde avec un joyeux message de résistance, célébrant les traditions Anishinabe et Onkwehonwe de danse ronde et d’interdépendance entrelacées avec les sons rocheux du blues, de la soul et du rock n’ roll.

Les cœurs battants de Digging Roots, duo fondateur ShoShona et Raven (mari et femme), ont construit une maison pour une communauté talentueuse de joueurs et de collaborateurs, dont leur fils, le batteur Skye Polson et Hill Kourkoutis. Plus qu’un groupe, Digging Roots a pris sa place en première ligne de la lutte pour l’équité et la représentation dans les arts, avec une implication dans la défense et l’organisation de l’industrie, y compris le Sommet international de la musique autochtone et Ishkode Records, pour autonomiser les communautés artistiques du monde entier.