DAVID JACQUES – youth show

DAVID JACQUES – youth show

Details

Oct 3

13 h 00

Doors open at 12 h 30


GLENCORE STAGE
Petit Théâtre

10$* for everyone
Presented by

DAVID JACQUES - le collectionneur


Originally from Saint-Georges de Beauce, Quebec, David Jacques holds a doctorate in early music performance (guitars and lutes) from the University of Montreal. He first studied classical guitar at Cégep de Sainte-Foy, Laval University and the Conservatoire de musique de Québec. He has collaborated on more than 50 recordings on the XXI-21, ATMA, Oz and Analekta labels, many of which have been nominated for ADISQ, JUNOs, Opus Awards and ECHO Classiks. His records Pièces de guitarre de Mr Rémy Médard (2008), Tango Boréal (2012) and Pampa Blues (2014) have notably won him Opus Prizes. He has also published several arrangements for guitar on behalf of Productions d’Oz. Very active here and abroad, he has given more than 3,500 concerts in more than 35 countries and on five continents. He has been the guest of several orchestras such as the Violons du Roy, the Orchestre symphonique de Québec, the Orchestre Métropolitain, the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, IMusici, the Ensemble Caprice, Moscow Pocket Symphony, the Hermitage of Moscow and the Mercury Chamber Orchestra of Houston. In addition to his activities as a performer, David is a professor of classical guitar and lute in the Music Department of Cégep de Sainte-Foy and in the Music Faculty of Laval University. He also completed a Bachelor of Education (B.A.), a Bachelor of Business Administration (B.A.A.) and a Bachelor of Laws at Laval University (LL.B.). Main Show: Histoires de guitares [Stories of guitars]. David Jacques brings together on the same stage a dozen guitars made by the best luthiers of the last 400 years. These rare instruments are part of his large private collection. He thus highlights each guitar by choosing a repertoire that characterizes it. Because everyone has a story to tell! Family show: Le Collectionneur | David est le Collectionneur [The Collector | David is the Collector]; like a private investigator, he finds old guitars that have disappeared. A mysterious client asks him to investigate – La Esmeralda – an ancient guitar believed to have belonged to one of her ancestors and to which she is said to be the heir. David Jacques traces this guitar back through eras and countries, to present-day Quebec. What he discovers when opening the guitar case upsets him. Le Collectionneur is a concert-workshop spiced up with anecdotes, in which David Jacques tells the story of some old collectible guitars and plays pieces composed during the youth of renowned composers. The short pieces are accompanied by funny stories about the life of the luthier and the characteristics of his guitar.





About the show


Family show

David is le Collectionneur; like a private investigator, he finds old guitars that have disappeared. A mysterious client asks him to investigate – La Esmeralda – an ancient guitar believed to have belonged to one of his ancestors. David Jacques traces this guitar back through eras and countries, to present-day Quebec. What he discovers when opening the guitar case upsets him.

Le Collectionneur is a concert-workshop spiced up with anecdotes, in which David Jacques tells the story of some old collectible guitars and plays pieces composed during the youth of renowned composers. The short pieces are accompanied by funny stories about the life of the luthier and the characteristics of his guitar.

DAVID JACQUES – spectacle jeunesse

DAVID JACQUES – spectacle jeunesse

Détails

3 Oct

13 h 00

Ouverture des portes à 12 h 30


SCÈNE GLENCORE
Petit Théâtre

10$* pour tous
Présenté par

DAVID JACQUES - le collectionneur


Originaire de Saint-Georges de Beauce, au Québec, David Jacques est titulaire d’un doctorat en interprétation de la musique ancienne (guitares et luths) de l’Université de Montréal. Il a d’abord étudié la guitare classique au Cégep de Sainte-Foy, à l’Université Laval et au Conservatoire de musique de Québec. Il a collaboré à plus de 50 enregistrements sous étiquettes XXI-21, ATMA, d’Oz et Analekta, dont plusieurs ont été nominés à l’ADISQ, aux JUNO, aux prix Opus et aux ÉCHO Classik. Ses disques Pièces de guitarre de Mr Rémy Médard (2008), Tango Boréal (2012) et Pampa Blues (2014) lui ont notamment valu des Prix Opus. Il a aussi publié plusieurs arrangements pour guitare pour le compte des Productions d’Oz. Très actif ici et à l’étranger, il a donné plus de 3500 concerts dans plus de 35 pays et sur cinq continents. Il a été l’invité de plusieurs orchestres tels que les Violons du Roy, l’Orchestre symphonique de Québec, l’Orchestre Métropolitain, l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, IMusici, L’Ensemble Caprice, Moscow Pocket Symphonie, L’Hermitage de Moscou et le Mercury Orchestra de Houston. Parallèlement à ses activités d’interprète, David est professeur de guitare classique et de luth au Département de musique du Cégep de Sainte-Foy et à la Faculté de musique de l’Université Laval. Il a également complété un baccalauréat en enseignement (B.A.), un baccalauréat en Administration des affaires (B.A.A.) et un Baccalauréat en droit à l’Université Laval (LL.B.). Spectacle Principal : Histoires de guitares. David Jacques rassemble sur une même scène une dizaine de guitares fabriquées par les meilleurs luthiers des 400 dernières années. Ces instruments rares font partie de son importante collection privée. Il met ainsi en valeur chaque guitare en choisissant un répertoire qui la caractérise. Parce que chacune a une histoire à raconter! Spectacle famille : Le Collectionneur | David est le Collectionneur ; à la manière d’un détective privé, il retrouve des guitares anciennes disparues. Une cliente mystérieuse lui demande d’enquêter sur — La Esmeralda — une guitare ancienne qui aurait appartenu à un de ses ancêtres et dont elle serait l’héritière. David Jacques remonte la piste de cette guitare à travers les époques et les pays, jusqu’au Québec d’aujourd’hui. Ce qu’il découvre en ouvrant l’étui de la guitare le bouleverse. Le Collectionneur est un concert-atelier pimenté d’anecdotes, à l’occasion duquel David Jacques raconte l’histoire de quelques guitares anciennes de collection et fait entendre des pièces composées dans la période de jeunesse de compositeurs de renoms. Les courtes pièces sont accompagnées d’histoires cocasses sur la vie du luthier et sur les caractéristiques de sa guitare.





À propos du spectacle


Spectacle jeunesse

David est le Collectionneur ; à la manière d’un détective privé, il retrouve des guitares anciennes disparues. Une cliente mystérieuse lui demande d’enquêter sur — La Esmeralda — une guitare ancienne qui aurait appartenu à un de ses ancêtres. David Jacques remonte la piste de cette guitare à travers les époques et les pays, jusqu’au Québec d’aujourd’hui. Ce qu’il découvre en ouvrant l’étui de la guitare le bouleverse.


Le Collectionneur est un concert-atelier pimenté d’anecdotes, à l’occasion duquel David Jacques raconte l’histoire de quelques guitares anciennes de collection et fait entendre des pièces composées dans la période de jeunesse de compositeurs de renoms. Les courtes pièces sont accompagnées d’histoires cocasses sur la vie du luthier et sur les caractéristiques de sa guitare.
____________________________________________________________________________________

*Taxes et frais de service en sus